Monday, December 5, 2011

Light Snow Ending Along AR/MO Border; Eyes on DC / NYC Metro in 2-3 Days...

As the saying goes, pictures speak a thousand take a look at these beautiful shots from northwestern and northcentral Arkansas today.  A dusting to 3 inches of snow covered much of the region, Northward into southcentral and southeast Missouri. 

Near Harrison, Arkansas

Near Ozark, Arkansas

A dusting to 2 inches of snow also took place back the Southwest along the Oklahoma/Texas border and into extreme northwest Texas earlier this morning.  The snow has tapered off to flurries across the region, which will continue overnight.  

The same storm system responsible for the pre-Christmas Southern snow now has eyes on the Tennessee Valley, central and northern Appalachians, and eventually the DC / NYC Metro areas for later this week, specifically during the period Wednesday through Thursday.

Below are the latest snow depth forecast images from the GFS model, valid 6pm CST / 7pm EST on Wednesday evening:

...and 6am CST / 7am EST on Thursday morning:

If the above forecast comes to pass, a band of snow, with accumulations of a dusting to 2 inches, will extend across the DC Metro on up toward NYC from late Wednesday into early Thursday morning.  If this takes place, it will be the first measurable snow for the DC area proper this season.

Stay tuned, we'll have a more detailed update on this system tomorrow...

If you enjoy reading 'The Original Weather Blog', please be sure to "like" our facebook page!

No comments: